Memories

It’s past midnight, and we’re driving towards the ocean with the windows down. The cold, cold wind stings my face. It’s winter but I’ve drunk too much, so I’m hoping the fresh air will sober me up. I’m with 3 friends and we’ve all just taken ecstasy at a gas station. Waiting for the high, it was my idea to go to the beach. What could be better than feeling the sand between your toes while you’re really fucking wasted?

There’s no one else on the road, and I’m not worried that the driver is pretty fucked up. I’m not capable of being worried about anything at that point. I think of my parents, asleep soundly in their bed only a few blocks away, and I smile, lighting up a cigarette.

Leave a Reply

